Gov. Bill Ritter today announced the appointments and re-appointments
of six Coloradans to the Colorado Transportation Commission, which
establishes policies and priorities for the Department of

For terms expiring July 1, 2011, the nominees are:
• Jeanne J. Erickson of Evergreen to represent the 2nd Transportation
• Heather Barry of Westminster to represent the 4th Transportation
• Bill Kaufman of Windsor to represent the 5th Transportation
District (re-appointment)
• George Krawzoff of Steamboat Springs to represent the 6th
Transportation District
• Leslie W. Gruen of Colorado Springs to represent the 9th
Transportation District
• Kimbra Killin of Holyoke to represent the 11th Transportation
District (re-appointment)

“As we continue to build a safe, modern and efficient transportation
system, the people of Colorado will be extremely well-served by these
new and returning transportation commissioners,” Gov. Ritter said.
“They will provide the leadership we need to meet the 21st century
road, highway, transit, air and other transportation challenges facing
Colorado today and in the years to come.”

The Colorado Transportation Commission began as a three-member Highway
Commission in 1909 to approve highway work and distribute funds.
Today, as an 11-member commission, it allocates funding and sets goals
and policy for the Colorado Department of Transportation.

“I welcome the new and returning commissioners and thank those
departing commissioners for their years of service and their
commitment to improving transportation in Colorado,” said CDOT
Executive Director Russell George. “Serving on the commission requires
hard work and long hours. We are fortunate to have citizens who care
enough about transportation to volunteer their time and expertise for
the betterment of Colorado.”

The appointments require Senate confirmation.